Design

Room Decor – How to Easily Transform Your Space

I always wanted a stylish room growing up. In middle school I thought that meant purple walls with my mattress right in the middle of the room. In middle school it was all about bright red walls with zebra and cheetah print scattered everywhere (yikes!). High school led me to blue walls, brown furniture, and a failed attempt at a beach-themed room. In college I moved so often that I never even bothered to fully decorate my room to my liking. Now I’m settled down and finally able to make my place feel like home. Here are some tips on how to spruce up your space:

  • Furniture: When choosing furniture I like to choose one color. This gives the room uniformity and lets the actual decorations be the focal point. A full length mirror is also a great decorative piece that serves a very functional purpose. Trust me, having a large mirror is like having your own dressing room at home.
  • Vases: I never really cared to buy vases because I lack the green thumb to keep flowers alive and fake flowers aren’t really my style. If you have the same mentality then I urge you to think twice. Next time you go to a store take a look at the selection of vases available, because I promise that there are some beautiful pieces out there.
  • Candles/Incense: One of my drawers holds purely candles and incense. Just like vases, there are so many beautiful candles out there. Also, once you finish your candle don’t throw it away! There are many DIY projects that you can do. If you like to switch it up once in a while try buying incense. They give your room a more smoky and natural earthy scent. There are some great holders available as well, especially if you like wooden pieces.
  • Picture Frames: There is never a reason to buy a standard black frame again. If you have a frame in a color that you do not like then an easy fix is to get a bottle of metallic spray paint and go at it. I love choosing metallics because they really make a picture frame shine and look a lot nicer than they actually are.
  • Vinyl Records: Pop by your closest thrift store and check out the vinyl section if they have it. Chances are that the vinyls at thrift stores aren’t very functional, but that doesn’t mean you should let those beautiful covers collect dust. Find some of your favorite bands and hang them on your wall. As a side note, if you do go and buy a new vinyl then I recommend using it for its intended use.
  • Crafts: Be proud of what you make! There are so many crafts that can be easily done at home. Check out my tutorials on making a dream catcher and watercolor calendar. Also, look forward to some upcoming tutorials that can really transform your room. If you aren’t a crafter then check out Etsy. There are some amazingly talented people  out there.
  • Art: You don’t have to be Picasso to display art at home. Etsy also has an amazing art and print collection. You can buy items and have them shipped or you can do one of my favorite things to do lately. Many shops have digital downloads for their prints for a very cheap price (I bought a beautiful floral piece for $1.50). The only caveat is that you have to print the the items yourself, but it still comes out cheaper than having to pay for shipping and handling.

Now that you have some ideas where do you shop? Etsy is a great online seller, but my go-to store to shop for decorations is Ross. I don’t want to break the bank when designing my room. Ross has some beautiful pieces at a great price. TJ Maxx, Marshalls, and other similar stores are always worth a visit because you never know what you will find.

Spark In Bloom

Standard

Leave a comment